Hey Doc, A Diagnosis Would Be Fantastic. Thanks.

question mark

I feel sick. Like UC sick. I won’t go into my symptoms in case you are eating (or live with me), but it’s no fun. And my doctor, well, he’s convinced it’s NOT a flare up. Since he just did a colonoscopy and saw an uninflamed colon, he says it can’t be a flare up. Plus, according to my doctor, I’m not presenting with “normal” symptoms. Whatever that means.

This all started immediately after my colonoscopy. At first, I just thought it had irritated my colon and that the uncomfortableness would go away in a few days. I called my doctor when it didn’t. So he increased my Asacol and asked me to wait a week. I still felt the same. Next he ordered blood work. Nothing. No flare-up here. And I was getting worse. He suggested it could be my diet, even though I haven’t changed anything. Now he has ordered stool samples. I’m working on those now (I need to give him three). He’s testing for a variety of things, from Giardia to IBS.

I am confused. I am frustrated. I am annoyed. But most of all, I am simply eager for a diagnosis. What’s going on? Why do I feel like I’m having a flare-up when I’m not? Anyone else have this experience? What was the outcome? Any tips?

By: Gia

2 thoughts on “Hey Doc, A Diagnosis Would Be Fantastic. Thanks.

  1. Hi my daughter has UC and has frequent times where she presents with symptoms that aren’t ‘normal’. It very frustrating. The hardest part can be to stay calm and unstressed as stress seems to make it worse.
    No advice I’m afraid, other than keep as relaxed as you can – not easy, I know.
    Wishing you all the best and a doctor who eventually listens

  2. Well I guess you stumped every body with that didn’t you. Sorry about that.
    Every time I felt I was having a flare I just assumed it was, I never went to a doctor at that time, until I thought it was time for a hospital.

Leave a comment